Home 5 Fun Facts 5 The 4 Stages of Gamified Experience
The 4 Stages of Gamified Experience

What is Gamification?

Gamification is a technique that designers use to insert gameplay elements in non-gaming environments.

Furthermore, gamification is utilized to solve problems. These commonly range from
issues of engagement in the workplace and education sector. As such, here’s a list of merely some of the barriers gamification can help solve:

  • Learner engagement in on-the-job training
  • Marketing staff performance
  • Recruitment process matters
  • Employees ability to complete and submit requirements
  • Information retention
  • Benchmarking
  • Outsourcing issues

The potential of Gamification goes beyond the power of games and applies it to real-world problems. For instance, implementing gamification will always look somewhat different in each environment.

For example, users become engaged with a game or a product, not in a few hours’ experience, but in a set of phases where they tend to understand it fully. They were also able to challenge each other in peer-to-peer activities which drove further excitement and participation.

This is where we introduce the four phases of gamification experience, particularly how it relates to different stages of a user’s journey.

Phase 1. Discovery

There has to be an initial awareness stage. When people first hear about a video game or a product that grabs their interest, they would think it’s something worth trying out. But how will you attract users? It might be a newsletter or email informing them about its benefits and it might be a poster or flyer that prompts something different. Whatever you prefer to do, make sure it is necessary and suits best for the theme of the video game or product.

Phase 2. Onboard

During the onboarding stage, you train the users to become familiar with the game mechanics. The users will start to learn and understand how a game or product works. This is also where their “Identity” comes in, as when they are “Onboard” they will begin to think about what the game or product can offer. For instance, you give them rewards or win rates if you want them to keep playing the game of using the product.

Phase 3. Engage

This stage is probably where the most “fun” should happen. The users apply what they have learned during onboarding and immerse themselves in the game activities. Remember to update the game or add new features to your product to satisfy the need of the users. Users at this phase have a long-term engagement and increase their win-states.

Phase 4. Mastery

In this final phase, users learned everything there is to do in the game or a product. They believe it is the “End-game” and there are no longer undiscovered levels or practices. When a user has consumed so much time in a game or using a product, it becomes hard to let go of all the reward points, skills, and levels. So, users keep playing the game or using the product to earn prizes and privileges to retain their assets.

The user experience will develop continuously as mastery of features and structure is achieved. Unfortunately, as time goes by, the game or a product becomes boring and torturous. So, the best way to create and review a game or a product is from a user perspective, then it will give better outcomes.

Published Date: July 22, 2021

The Author



Abakada Studios

Contact Us


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *